Home » Reviews » Vegan Dining… Is Subway Vegan Friendly?

Vegan Dining… Is Subway Vegan Friendly?

posted in: Reviews 4

Subway Review CollageA vegan dining review of Subway seemed like a no-brainer because it’s somewhere my mother and I have been visiting for a long time now.  And it remains in my top 5 for something quick and easy while you are out and about.  One of the things we like about this chain is how inviting and easy going the dining area is.  They are all no-fuss, no muss kinda places.

You should know, it completely depends on the individual store how large the place is, though generally they are rather welcoming, light filled and clean.  Even when they are more like little hole-in-the-wall places.

They do have a lovely variety of foods to pick from, their sandwiches are delicious, from one food extreme to another, whether carnivore of vegan you can Subway Review Breadfind something yummy to eat there.  At least, most people can anyway, you’d have to be a very picky person to find nothing!

Now, for the breads there is a lot to pick from, as a vegan it’s generally rather obvious the ones you don’t want to eat, they have cheese baked right on the top of them.

However, their Flatbread contains dairy and so does their Garlic Bread, so beware of those sneaky things!  Unless you, ya’ know, don’t mind having a little every now and then and REALLY want that Garlic Bread because it smells SO GOOD.

And what breads and some of the other ingredients they have changes depending on location.  They keep things that are popular in your area, and ditch things that aren’t doing as well.

Subway Review VeggiesI’m not sure why, but this place is very unintimidating for someone with anxiety issues, it was the only place I’d eat out at for awhile, it’s low key and generally very well lit.

They have it so easy to get exactly what you want, in fact, that is one of their main selling points.

You can get the bread you want, the meat and cheese for all the non-vegan’s out there, and naturally all of those delicious vegi’s!

Anything from dill pickles (I have in past and am in present a dill pickle lover,) to jalapeno’s and onions.

Heavy lettuce, spinach, all these things you can have and you can be that person to ask for a lot or a little.

Subway Toppings Everywhere…

  • Cucumbers
  • Green Bell Peppers
  • Lettuce
  • Red Onions
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Banana Peppers
  • Jalapenos
  • Olives
  • Pickles

Your Local SUBWAY® May Also Have…

  • Avocado
  • Carrots
  • Guacamole
  • Sweet PeppersSubway Review Sauces

And then you have the condiments and dressings, this is where the going gets a wee bit tricky, actually.  So instead of ranting I’m going to make an actual list of the things that ARE VEGAN FRIENDLY.

  • Buffalo Sauce
  • Mustard, (yellow and deli brown NOT honey mustard sauce, that has eggs in it)
  • Oil
  • Sweet Onion Sauce
  • Vinegar

A rather small list compared to the options they have, actually.  Which is saddening but there it is.  You do have options, but I’m going to restate, the honey mustard sauce isn’t vegan, however the regular yellow and deli brown is.

They have recently added a few more vegan options, but they are not in my area and I haven’t been able to try them out!  It’s only in about a thousand stores right now in the DC, Los Angeles, Connecticut and Southern Florida areas.  They now have a Veggie Delite and a Malibu Sub, which both sound really good, and I’m really hoping they get more popular and come to all stores really soon!

To recap Subway is a very good option, even if their dressings are a little limited, they have a good number of bread choices and a whole ton of vegetables to pick from!  So, in my book Subway is Vegan friendly, very vegetarian friendly and of course, carnivores are going to love it.

vegan-3-starvegetarian-5-starcarnivore-5-starReview By… RagingDaffodil



Like This Vegan Dining Review?
Please Help Us By Telling Your Friends

Return to our “Vegan Reviews” homepage!

4 Responses

  1. Ayman Ghazzawi
    | Reply

    I went to subway and read the bread ingredients from the dough box, They all contain eggs or milk but the only only vegan bread is the 9 grain wheat.

    • Vegan Banana
      | Reply

      I’m not sure why they would say that there and not on their website. I got all my information for this post from their online ingredients list, which you can see here.

      I’ll try to look a little deeper into this and see, but there seems to be some inconsistency between website and store.

  2. Rich
    | Reply

    What about the Veggie Patty? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *